DeKalb Firefighters Honored in Springfield

Illinois firefighters were honored in Springfield this week, and special awards were given to a few extraordinary firefighters, including one from the area.

Jared Thorp is a firefighter and paramedic with the DeKalb Fire Department, and was designated the Medal of Honor Award Recipient. This is the highest award given by the State of Illinois to a firefighter for an act of outstanding bravery or heroism, selflessness, and personal courage above and beyond the call of duty, under adverse conditions, with the possibility of extreme personal risk.

The award was presented to Jared by the Firefighting Medal of Honor Committee and the Office of the State Fire Marshall at the Tuesday ceremony in Springfield. Congratulations to Jared on this outstanding achievement!

Two other groups of DeKalb firefighters were designated Excellence Award Recipients. This award is given to acknowledge an act of service in the line of duty, demonstrating excellence and professionalism in service to the citizens of the State of Illinois.  This award is given with Unit Citations, as it is designated to groups of firefighters. 

Excellence Award Recipients -
DeKalb Engine Company #2 [Unit Citation]
·         Firefighter/Paramedic Todd Adamson
·         Lieutenant/Paramedic Brett Gautcher
·         Firefighter/Paramedic Tim Stiker
·         Firefighter/Paramedic Chris Krupa
DeKalb Aerial Ladder Truck Company #1 [Unit Citation]
·         Firefighter/Paramedic Matt Holuj
·         Firefighter/Paramedic Jon Ritter
·         Captain Mike Thomas
·         Firefighter/Paramedic Andrew Romano

All the firefighters and their families were welcomed to Springfield for the special ceremony.  A memorial was also held to honor all the fallen firefighters in Illinois.  Today, we not only recognized those hardworking firefighters we have here in Illinois, but remembered those we lost. 

No comments :